Research your local firearm laws to ensure you understand the accepted practices in your area.

FAQ – Chandler’s & Chesterfield Armament

Yes! Both Chandler’s and Chesterfield Armament are licensed FFL Dealers. Visit Chandler’s during our regular business hours for FFL Transfers.

Yes! Chandler’s FFL Transfer Services include having guns shipped to the shop, and person-to-person transfers. The fee is $25 per transfer, not per gun. So whether we’re dealing with one or one hundred guns, if they are on the same transfer, it’s $25!

Yes! There are very few guns we won’t buy! We’ll buy collections ranging from one gun to hundreds, and estates with furniture and ammo—Chandler’s doesn’t cherry-pick! We try to buy your entire collection. This is what separates us from the competition.

We do! You can see us represented as “Chesterfield Armament” at most Virginia gun shows.

No, we do not. If you are local, there are a few reliable gunsmiths we can recommend based on your needs.

Chesterfield Armament offers various unique Class III items, such as machine guns, silencers, short-barrel rifles, and shotguns. We are always looking to acquire collections of any size.

Chandler’s Firearms Estates is not Class III at this time.

No. If you are local and looking for a Concealed Carry class, there are a few we can recommend.

No. That would be quite a list to compile! Feel free to check out our Shop with Us page to see our listed items.

FAQ – Purchasing Firearms

To purchase a gun in the State of Virginia, one to two forms of identification are required, depending on whether or not you are a Virginia resident. (See applicable answers below.) The Purchaser fills out a VSP SP-65 State Form and a 4473 Federal Form for a background check at the time of a firearm purchase.

You need your Virginia Driver’s License with your current physical address. (We cannot run a background check if you tell us your address is not current.) If you have a P.O. Box address listed instead, then you will need a second form of government-issued I.D. WITH your physical address (voter registration card, hunting/fishing license, vehicle registration, or Concealed Carry Permit).

You will fill out the two background check forms. (A VSP SP-65 State Form and a 4473 Federal Form.)

Nonresidents can purchase long guns (rifles/shotguns) and walk out with them on the same day. Handguns, receivers, lowers, and frames have to be shipped to an FFL in your state for you to pick up.

To purchase a gun in the State of Virginia as a nonresident:

– You need two forms of I.D.—Your state Driver’s License with your physical address and a second form of I.D. with the same physical address. If you have a P.O. Box address instead, you will need to prove your physical address by providing an additional form of government-issued I.D. WITH your physical address (voter registration card, hunting/fishing license, Concealed Carry Permit).

– You will fill out two background check forms. (A VSP SP-65 and a 4473 form.)

In Virginia, you can purchase as many long guns (shotguns/rifles) as you like. Handguns are restricted to one every thirty days unless you present your Concealed Carry Permit. You can purchase as many handguns as you like with a CCP.

No. However, without a Concealed Carry Permit, you are restricted to one handgun purchase every thirty days. We highly recommend you take a Concealed Carry class before purchasing a handgun to help ensure confidence in both the use of the handgun and in your purchase choice. 

If you are under 21, there is now a procedure in place where the state checks through your juvenile records. This puts you on an automatic delay for about a week or so. We will give you a call when the background check goes through and you can pick up your purchase.

There are no other waiting period restrictions.

Firearms dated 1898 and earlier are categorized as “Antique” and do not require a background check. This is determined by the manufacturer date and not the patent date.

No. Black powder firearm purchases do not require a background check.

FAQ – Selling/Gifting Firearms

To purchase your firearm/s from you, we have to see proof of your physical address such as your Driver’s License (if it has a P.O. Box address, we’ll need to see a second form of I.D. bearing your physical address). That’s it!

In Virginia, all firearm sales must be conducted by an FFL Dealer. Chandler’s provides this service. For a private or person-to-person firearm sale, both the seller and the buyer must be present

The seller brings the firearm and will need their Driver’s License bearing their physical address (or a second I.D. that does). 

The buyer will fill out a background check, providing the proper forms of I.D. (See transfer answers above.)

In the State of Virginia, it is legal to gift someone a firearm. To do that, you simply give someone a firearm. You can receive nothing in return for the gift! If you receive anything in return, then legally it becomes a firearm/s purchase that requires an FFL dealer and background check.

You do not need to have it “transferred” to their name as Virginia does not have a gun registry. If you would like proof that it is no longer in your possession, a written note signed by the recipient is recommended.

No. It is illegal to sell firearms in Virginia without an FFL providing a background check service. It is legal to gift someone a firearm, but you can receive nothing in return as it would then qualify as a firearm sale. Chandler’s provides FFL transfer services.

We are not lawmakers or lawyers. We cannot be held responsible for any misinterpretation of current firearm laws and practices. Please research your local gun laws to ensure you understand the acceptable practices in your area.